Thursday, January 14, 2021

“4th of July” by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro – At the Law's Mercy

4th of July by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro (Book cover)

James Patterson began the Women's Murder Club with relatively small ambitions, but with time it turned into one of his most recognizable works. In the fourth book co-authored with Maxine Paetro, titled 4th of July, we follow Lindsay Boxer as she is forced to fight for her innocence at her own trial, all while chasing after a serial killer who has been terrorizing a small picturesque town.

Friday, January 08, 2021

“Saving Sophie” by Ronald H. Balson – A Parental Determination

Saving Sophie by Ronald H. Balson (Book cover)
Ronald H. Balson has become a recognizable voice in the domain of Jewish literature, most notably through his Liam Taggard and Catherine Lockhart series. 

The second book, titled Saving Sophie, tells the story of a father who is not only accused in a massive embezzlement case, but also whose wife just died and daughter just got kidnapped by her maternal grandmother, a suspected terrorist in Palestine.

Tuesday, December 22, 2020

“Elegy for Eddie” by Jacqueline Winspear – Drawn Back into Childhood

Elegy for Eddie by Jacqueline Winspear (Book cover)
Jacqueline Winspear has made a unique little nest in the mystery genre for her detective heroine, Maisie Dobbs, setting her cases during the uncertain time between the two World Wars. 

In the ninth book of the series, titled Elegy for Eddie, Maisie finds herself drawn into the investigation of the supposed accidental death of a childhood friend of hers. Needless to say, the case screams of murder rather than accident.

Friday, December 18, 2020

“3rd Degree” by James Patterson and Andrew Gross – The Obscured Agenda

3rd Degree by James Patterson and Andrew Gross (Book cover)
James Patterson and Andrew Gross have proven the value of their partnership with their highly successful Women's Murder Club Series, and the third book, titled 3rd Degree, serves up an unexpected twist on a silver platter. 

As the members of the afore-mentioned club investigate a terrorist group with an unknown agenda following a recent attack, one of the women sees death lurking at her threshold.

Wednesday, December 16, 2020

“The Pull of the Stars” by Emma Donoghue – Breath of the New World

The Pull of the Stars by Emma Donoghue (Book cover)

Emma Donoghue has shown time and time again her special affinity for writing profound stories with complex and unique characters, something she does once again in her recent novel, The Pull of the Stars

It tells the story of three women working in a maternity ward over three days as they deal with the ravages of war and disease in 1918 Ireland, as well as a flu pandemic which pushes their hospital to the brink of its capabilities.

Friday, December 04, 2020

“The Trials of Koli” by M.R. Carey – In Search of the Lost Signal

The Trials of Koli by M.R. Carey (Book cover)
M.R. Carey debuted the stunning journey of Koli through a world turned hostile to us in the first book of The Rampart Trilogy, and in the second one, titled The Trials of Koli, we follow the young man on the most important quest of his life. 

With his village and others like it dying out, he has set in search of a mysterious piece of technology from old times which he once heard about in a story describing the lost city of London.

Tuesday, November 24, 2020

“The Hollow Places” by T. Kingfisher – Infinite Realities Behind Uncle's Wall

The Hollow Places by T. Kingfisher (Book cover)
T. Kingfisher (pen name of Ursula Vernon) has been quietly working her way to the front lines of the horror genre, with her most recent effort being The Hollow Places

Introducing us to a young woman named Kara, the story then thrusts her into a world-shattering scenario when she discovers a hidden bunker with portals to alternate realities behind a wall in her uncle's house. However, those realities might also carry invaders keen on crossing over into our own world.

Thursday, November 19, 2020

“A Lesson in Secrets” by Jacqueline Winspear – In Service of His Majesty

Jacqueline Winspear has taken Maisie Dobbs on a great journey through her numerous investigations, and in the eighth book, A Lesson in Secrets, Maisie ascends ever further into her profession as a detective, taking on an assignment for the British Secret Service. 

The mission places her undercover as a professor at Cambridge in order to investigate the troubling emergence of the Nazi party.

Thursday, November 12, 2020

“The Mapping of Love and Death” by Jacqueline Winspear – Of Wartime Treason and Murder

The Mapping of Love and Death by Jacqueline Winspear (Book cover)
Jacqueline Winspear has taken Maisie Dobbs on one original journey after the next as an investigator in 1930s London, and in The Mapping of Love and Death she finds yet another quest worthy of the heroine's prowess. 

Hired by the parents of a young man whose remains were just unearthed after years of being missing in action, Maisie is tasked with finding the nameless nurse whose love letters were among his belongings, setting on the path of a dangerous wartime story.

Thursday, October 29, 2020

“Unhappenings” by Edward Aubry – Erasing a Person in Time

Unhappenings by Edward Aubry (Book cover)
Edward Aubry recently left the comfort of his long-standing Mayhem Wave series to try his hand at a standalone time travel novel, which he titled Unhappenings. In it, we are told the story of Nigel Walden, whose past seems to be constantly rewriting itself from one day to the next since the age of fourteen. 

A few years later, he receives a visit from two people of his own future, one being an elderly version of himself, and they attempt to find the truth behind the “unhappenings”.

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

“2nd Chance” by James Patterson and Andrew Gross – Victim of a Miracle

2nd Chance by James Patterson and Andrew Gross (Book cover)
James Patterson and Andrew Gross are without doubt two of the best and most prominent murder mystery writers, and for everyone's pleasure they decided to collaborate on 2nd Chance, the second entry into the Women's Murder Club series. 

The story follows an investigation centred around a curious public shooting outside a San Francisco church, where miraculously only a single specific victim was killed.

Thursday, October 08, 2020

“Among the Mad” by Jacqueline Winspear – Hunting the Would-Be Murderer

Among the Mad by Jacqueline Winspear (Book cover)

Jacqueline Winspear has turned Maisie Dobbs into a true mainstay of the murder mystery genre, and her sixth novel in the series, titled Among the Mad, looks to raise the stakes a bit. 

This time around, Maisie is racing against the clock to find the blackmailer of the prime minister's office, whose threats include the perpetration of a murder on a massive scale should their demands not be met.